© 2019 Blossom Street      Email: info@blossomstreetchoir.com    Telephone: 07740 354817

  • Twitter Classic

Reviews and Testimonials

Robert Hugill, Planet Hugill, September 2015

“From the very opening notes of the Byrd, it was clear that the choir made a highly different sound. They performed the Renaissance polyphony with great vibrancy…, this was a thrilling sound and a very distinctive one.… The Jackson was more restrained but still a very vivid tone quality” 

Harold Mead, Milverton Review, December 2012

“Perfection is rare, but Milverton Concert Society’s presentation of the ‘Blossom Street’ choir’s ‘Sleep, Holy Babe’ last Friday came very, very close… The twelve singers, three in each part and directed by their founder Hilary Campbell, wowed their audience with a candle-lit Christmas evening to remember. The unaccompanied programme was wide ranging – songs from the 16th to the 21st century, from Mexico to Russia were all presented with sheer professionalism and beauty of sound.  Each singer’s voice was obviously of solo quality, yet the blend and ensemble were perfect, the balance across the whole range from deepest bass to top soprano just right. It takes a great deal of hard work to achieve this quality, and it was obvious from the outset that Hilary Campbell is in complete control of every aspect. Her conducting was brilliant, both hands communicating tempo and phrasing, dynamics and interpretation in a wonderful way. …Everything about this evening was a delight.” 

Rochdale Online, September 2012

"My spirit sang all day' (set to music by Gerald Finzi) were the opening words of a splendid concert in which two centuries of the English choral tradition were celebrated with examples of works exhibiting a rich variety of style and technique … such an attractive presentation. This group … was quite able to fill the auditorium of Heywood Civic Centre with stylish, nuanced sounds that pleased the heart and mind alike... As Blossom Street demonstrated, words that may seem unpromising on the page can take on considerable depth of meaning when set to music by such composers and interpreted with such feeling and technical accomplishment." 

Steven Whitehead, Cross Rhythms November 2011, reviewing ‘Sleep, Holy Babe’

“The singing is a capella throughout and absolutely first class ... This is well worth investigating whether you like to explore less familiar material or enjoy top class a capella singing or indeed both. And, as with all Naxos releases, this is outstanding value for money.”  

John Quinn, November 2011, Music Web International, reviewing ‘Sleep, Holy Babe’

“The choir sings well. Their diction is good and there’s a pleasing freshness to the tone … The singing is very enjoyable. This is an enjoyable and enterprising collection.” 

Sarah Bryan Miller, St Louis Post-Dispatch, reviewing ‘Sleep, Holy Babe’

“The voices are lovely and the music is in a contemplative vein, just right for those days when relentless commercial holiday music threatens to overwhelm the holiday spirit.” 

Edward Greenfield, Gramophone, October 2013, reviewing 'Down by the Sea'

"It is some indication of the quality of the 23 singers in Blossom Street that all the solos are outstanding, pure and true…. The recording is excellent, vivid and immediate with a nice feeling of atmosphere."

David Mellor, Classic FM, New Releases Show, July 2013, reviewing 'Down by the Sea'

"Simply lovely. I cannot recommend this disc too highly."

Norman Lebrecht, Sinfini Music, July 2013 *****, reviewing 'Down by the Sea'

"Album of the Week 22 July and Choral Album of the Year

At the risk of prejudicing any latecomers and with 2013 barely half gone, I declare this release to be my choral album of the year. I’d be stupefied if anything stronger comes long. …Terrific stuff"

David Mellor, The Mail on Sunday, November 2011 *****, reviewing 'Sleep, Holy Babe'

"Campbell, who contributes an attractive carol of her own, Sleep My Dreaming One, has chosen music that is reflective rather than extrovert, tonal but never facile, and with real spiritual depth. I love it."

Bucks Free Press, December 2013

The group also performed some Christmas lullabies from their first CD “Sleep, Holy Babe” in recognition of the fast-approaching Christmas season.  The performance was very relaxed and ideally suited to concert club size audiences. It was a very successful evening. 

The Prince of Wales, 2009

“Such a special treat and, for me, the best birthday present imaginable.   I only hope that it was fairly obvious how much I enjoyed it!”

Aodan Glynn, 2010

“Without a doubt the best concert that we have attended in many years.” 

Caroline Nemorin, 2011

“I just wanted to say just how fantastic you all were on Thursday - EVERYBODY commented on just how amazing you were.  We are both delighted with how the service went and I can't stress enough just how we were blown away we were with your voices.” 

Malcolm Rudland, Peter Warlock Society, November 2012

“I just wanted to say just how fantastic you all were on Thursday - EVERYBODY commented on just how amazing you were.  We are both delighted with how the service went and I can't stress enough just how we were blown away we were with your voices.” 

Please reload